Sill construction and repair

Hi all.
Newbie here, but not to cars;)
I bought a 1998 Almera Si last september very cheap 'cos it was well rusty. Needed a car to get me through the winter. My Wife has the exact same car - right down to the colour and interior!! Only the alloy wheels are different.

Anyway, it has lasted me well through the snow and ice but is now out of test (last monday). So, scrap it or repair it? ....................... Go on then, lets have a go at fixing it:eek:

DSCF0004.jpg

Heres a photo of the drivers side sill. Looks good but there is some bubbling right in the middle of the sill under the back of the door. Some hammer tapping later and here we go

DSCF0005.jpg

Out comes the air saw and all the badly rusted stuff cut out. First thing to notice was the presence of an inner sill. (which was also rusty).

DSCF0006.jpg

The front half of the sill is purely an inner and an outer. The back half is somewhat different (as you will see later). The front half of the sill goes down to halfway then bends inwards and goes all the way to the back. Then an outer sill panel is welded on top of that from halfway back all the way to the rear tyre. Notice also that there is another inner sill under the first inner sill (!), and then another thicker one at the back that the floor and outriggers/mounts are welded to.

Anyway, the rest of the sill is not too bad so was reconstructed from the inner sill and then the outer sill. All welded in.

DSCF0007.jpg

DSCF0012.jpg

Now awaiting some blue paint (tomorrow), and on to the other side.................................................................................................

Andy.

Go on then, lets have a go at the other side.